Shirkey announces Committee on Committees

LANSING—Senate Majority Leader-elect Mike Shirkey, R-Clarklake, today announced Senator Ken Horn, R-Frankenmuth, will chair the temporary Senate Committee on Committees.

The Committee on Committees is charged with assigning senators to policy committees, the appropriations committee and subcommittees.  The Committee on Committees will focus on the knowledge, expertise and experiences of each senator to determine assignments.

“We are eager to dig in and get to work,” said Senate Majority Leader-elect Shirkey.  “We said from the start that we will not skip a beat in our efforts to keep Michigan moving forward.  Chairman Horn and the committee members have a large task in front of them, but I am certain they will handle it with ease and produce an excellent roster for the new term,” said Shirkey.

The Committee on Committees members include:

Senator Ken Horn, R-Frankenmuth, Chair

Senator Wayne Schmidt, R-Traverse City

Senator-elect Kim LaSata, R-Bainbridge Township

Senator-elect Dan Lauwers, R-Brockway Township

Senator-elect Aric Nesbitt, R-Lawton