Shirkey announces committee chairs

LANSING—Senate Majority Leader Mike Shirkey, R-Clarklake, today announced senate standing committee and appropriations subcommittee chairs.

“Our caucus members bring with them unique life experiences and knowledge that will enhance the committee process. We’ve done our best to partner senators with the issue areas where they have interest, expertise and passion. This thoughtful assignment method will improve the committee process and the product,” said Shirkey.

Committee chairs are listed below:

Standing Committee Chairs

Advice and Consent—Sen. Lucido, R-Shelby Township

Agriculture–Sen. Daley, R-Arcadia Township

Economic and Small Business Development—Sen. Horn, R-Frankenmuth

Education and Career Readiness—Sen. Theis, R-Brighton

Energy and Technology—Sen. Lauwers, R-Brockway Township

Environmental Quality—Sen. Outman, R-Six Lakes

Families, Seniors, and Veterans—Sen. Bizon, R-Battle Creek

Finance—Sen. Runestad, R-White Lake

Government Operations—Senate Majority Leader Shirkey, R-Clarklake

Health Policy—Sen. VanderWall, R-Ludington

Insurance and Banking—Sen. Theis, R-Brighton

JCAR—Sen. Lucido, R-Shelby Township

Judiciary and Public Safety—Sen. Lucido, R-Shelby Township

Local Government—Sen. Zorn, R-Ida

Natural Resources—Sen. McBroom, R-Vulcan

Oversight—Sen. McBroom, R-Vulcan

Regulatory Reform—Sen. Nesbitt, R-Lawton

Transportation and Infrastructure—Sen. Barrett, R-Potterville


Appropriations and Sub-Committee Chairs

Appropriations–Sen. Stamas, R-Midland

Agriculture and Rural Development–Sen. Victory, R-Hudsonville

Capital Outlay—Sen. Horn, R-Frankenmuth

General Government—Sen. Stamas, R-Midland

Health and Human Services—Sen. MacGregor, R-Rockford

Justice and Public Safety—Sen. Barrett, R-Potterville

K-12 and Michigan Department of Education—Sen. Schmidt, R-Traverse City

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA)—Sen. Nesbitt, R-Lawton

Natural Resources and Environmental Quality—Sen. Bumstead, R-Newaygo

Talent and Economic Development/MEDC—Sen. Horn, R-Frankenmuth

Transportation—Sen. Schmidt, R-Traverse City

Universities and Community Colleges—Sen. LaSata, R-Bainbridge Township

“We expect the committee process to be deliberative and thorough. We look forward to robust policy debates and bipartisan work product, where possible,” said Shirkey. “I am a firm believer in delegating authority to individual chairs to ensure they have full ownership of the bills reported from their respective bodies. I have every confidence in these committee chairs and I know we are all eager to get to work.”